What is wrong with humanity?

My faith in people is a tad bruised right now. I have lost a dear friend and colleague to illness some five days ago, specifically, 05 March 2016. I have known and worked with the deceased since the mid-90’s and we became good friends plus we live in the same neighbourhood.
Our children attend the same schools and they have been using the same taxi’s to school all these years.
I have learnt a lot and gained wise counsel from my deceased friend over the years because he was a principled and hardworking man.

Why am I opining about my departed friend?
Upon receiving the news of his death over the weekend we got to talk and reminisce about his life at work on Monday and what I have discovered is that people have become utterly desensitised and less compassionate about mundane yet poignant things like the death of other people who are not close to them even if they happpen to be colleagues.

Even the reaction of management was indifferently nonchalant as though his death was but another everyday news bulletin to which people have become numbingly accustomed. Today I spoke to some people at work to gauge their reaction and I was shocked to hear quips like: ‘I never really knew him’, ‘he was rude’, ‘me, go to his place…?, etc.

Does one really have to be best friends with one’s colleague in order to show sympathy upon their death?
Even if we are not on speaking terms with our colleagues or neighbours; is it not incumbent upon us to show compassion and more sensitivity to the families of the deceased during such situations by according requisite respect to the dead?

Regardless of any acrimonious relationship we might have shared with someone who died, do we really have to celebrate their demise?
What makes us human, is it not our agency to transcend personal rancour and reconcile with those whom we perceive as having done untold evil unto us or do we just proceed and piss on their grave?

Pascal once advised:
‘If human dignity lies in thought then let us all strive to think well’.

Kwenda mzuri, friend.

Thank You. Keep Reading.

